|Tajuk||Maklum Balas : Supplements : Bovine-Sourced Gelatine In Capsules Not Suited For Vegetarians|
|Kategori||Surat Kepada Pengarang|
|Penerangan||Surat Kepada Pengarang|
With reference to the recent comment “SUPPLEMENTS: bovine-sourced gelatine in capsules not suited for vegetarians” that was published in the New Straits Times on 29 May 2012 (Letters to the Editors), I would like to thank the writer for her concern on the labelling of animal sourced ingredients in supplements.
The Ministry of Health (MOH) is well aware of the importance of declaring and labelling all sources of ingredients derived from animal origin in supplements and medicines. Other than religious reasons, the information on animal origin is very important especially for those with allergies such as allergic to bovine and seafood.
The National Pharmaceutical Control Bureau (NPCB), MOH has enforced the requirements to declare source of active ingredients, excipient and/or capsule shell, including gelatine, derived from animal origin on immediate container and outer carton labelling of all registered products through the Drug Registration Guidance Document. The guidelines outlined in this document are primarily drawn up in accordance to the legal requirements of the Sale of Drugs Act 1952 and the Control of Drugs and Cosmetics Regulations 1984.
In addition, NPCB has issued a directive in March 2009 to serve as a reminder to all products registration holders on the labelling requirements of registered products. The registration of a product with the Drug Control Authority may be suspended or cancelled if the registration holder does not comply with the requirements.
Products registered and marketed in this country is constantly monitored by NPCB through post marketing surveillance activities, which include continuous inspection on the labels and package inserts of the registered products to ensure compliance with all the requirements.
Consumers and patients, however, should be alert and are advised to read the label of products to obtain accurate information before consuming.
For enquires, public can contact the National Pharmacy Call Centre (NPCC) which operates 24 hours a day at toll free line 1-800-88-6722 or email to email@example.com.